59 towns in the running for 2021 Ag Town of the Year

18 Aug 2021

Fifty-nine agricultural towns across South Australia are in the running to take the crown as the state's best for 2021, with public voting opening today. 

More than 90 nominations were received for the 2021 Ag Town of the Year Award, and from the Narungga electorate the towns of Ardrossan, Coobowie, Kadina and Moonta are among the contenders for the title. 

"During tough times, the resilience of our regional communities shine and 2021 has thrown up many challenges, particularly with the impacts of COVID-19", said Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham when announcing the voting process was open. 

"Agriculture has continued to keep moving through the COVID-19 restrictions to ensure food from South Australia appears on tables across the country and world.

"I'm proud this award throws the spotlight on our regions and demonstrates the best of agricultural towns in South Australia", he said. 

The Award recognises the importance of agriculture in South Australia and the positive economic impact the entire supply chain has on a township and community. 

Our regions matter -- they contribute around $29 billion per year to the South Australian economy across a range of industries including farming, fishing, mining, manufacturing and tourism. 

People are encouraged to visit the website www.agtown.com.au to vote for your favourite town. 

Votes will determine the top five finalists which will then vie for the title of 2021 South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year. 

The winner will be announced at the 2021 Regional Showcase celebration event in November 2021.