Moonta Area and Maitland Lutheran Schools new vaccine hubs

01 Nov 2021

A further 54 schools have been announced to have COVID-19 vaccine availability for students and teachers, among them Moonta Area School and Maitland Lutheran School.


Kadina Memorial School was announced on 18 October as becoming a pop-up vaccination hub. 

Teachers and all students over the age of 12 at KMS can access the Pfizer vaccine, with parental consent (all parents should have received a consent pack), during the following dates:

Round 1: Wednesday 10 November through to Saturday 13 November

Round 2: Wednesday 1 December through to Saturday 4 December

This pop up clinic will also be open to the community on Saturday 13 November and Saturday 4 December.

In the selection of locations, priority has been given providing access to more vulnerable communities and communities with lower vaccination rates.

Premier Steven Marshall said that opening up more schools-based clinics will help accelerate South Australia’s push towards the double vaccination milestones set out in the state’s COVID Ready Plan.

“Vaccination is the key to South Australians enjoying the freedom and mobility that we are all hoping for this Christmas,” said Premier Marshall.

“The rapid expansion of the school-based hubs means that students and their families have a more convenient way to get vaccinated during this school term and ensure our school communities remain as safe as possible.

“With the festive season fast approaching, South Australians have Christmas in their hands.  If we all get behind the rollout and push up past the 90 per cent double vaccination milestone, we can have a more normal Christmas.”

The schools clinic expansion has been made possible through a partnership between the Commonwealth and their providers, SA Health, the Department for Education and the Catholic and independent school systems.

Minister for Health and Wellbeing Stephen Wade said it has never been easier or more convenient to get vaccinated.

“I want to thank everyone who has already rolled up to protect themselves, their loved ones and their community,” said Minister Wade.

“We have continued to scale up vaccination clinics and open new ones. We recently launched a new fleet of mobile vaccination vans; we’re working with a growing list of businesses and we just held our first super walk-in weekend which saw thousands of South Australians get vaccinated.

“Vaccination is our pathway out of the pandemic and these new school sites will make it even easier for South Australians to get a jab.”

The vaccine will be available in schools to students aged 12 to 18 years old with parental consent, as well as parents, siblings and school staff.

Schools will communicate directly with families letting them know when the clinics will run.

The 54 schools announced today are:

1.Adelaide North Special School
2.Avenues College
3.Blackwood High School  
4.Bowden Brompton Community School
5.Caritas College, Pt Augusta (Non-gov)
6.Ceduna Area School
7.Christies Beach HS & Sth Voc College
8.Coober Pedy Area School
9.Craigmore High School
10.Cummins Area School
11.Eastern Fleurieu R-12 School
12.Edward John Eyre High School
13.Gladstone High School
14.Golden Grove High School
15.Gordon Education Centre
16.Hamilton Secondary College
17.Henley High School
18.Hope Christian College, Craigmore (Non-gov)
19.Kilparrin Teaching and Assessment School and Services
20.Kirton Point School (staff/parents only)
21.Lake Wangary Primary School (staff/parents only)
22.Lincoln Gardens Primary (staff/parents only)
23.Maitland Lutheran College, Maitland (Non-gov)
24.Meningie Area School
25.Modbury Special School
26.Moonta Area School
27.Mount Barker High School
28.Murray Bridge High School
29.Naracoorte High School
30.Navigator College, Port Lincoln (Non-gov)
31.Nuriootpa High School
32.Ocean View P-12 College
33.Parafield Gardens High School
34.Peterborough High School
35.Poonindie School (staff/parents only)
36.Port Augusta Special School
37.Port Lincoln Primary (staff/parents only)
38.Port Lincoln Special School
39.Riverland Special School
40.Roxby Downs Area School
41.SA School for Vision Impaired
42.Salisbury East High School
43.Samaritan College, Whyalla (Non-gov)
44.Seaford Secondary College
45.Springbank Secondary College
46.St Joseph’s School, Pt Lincoln (Non-gov)
47.The Grove Education Centre
48.The Heights School
49.Thomas More College, Salisbury (Non-gov)
50.Tumby Bay Area School
51.Victor Harbor High School
52.Whyalla High School
53.Whyalla Special Education Centre
54.Wirreanda Secondary School