Nominations open for Ministerial AgTech Advisory Group

11 Apr 2019 media release

Nominations are being sought for a new Ministerial AgTech Advisory Group, as part of the Marshall Liberal Government’s concerted focus to grow primary industries in South Australia.

The AgTech Advisory Group will be made up of eight members, including an independent chair, and provide high-level independent advice on the practical application and adoption of technologies and on-farm innovation.
AgTech has been identified as a key growth area to help farmers boost agriculture to a $100 billion industry in Australia by 2030.
Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone encouraged anyone with experience and interest in AgTech in South Australia to nominate for the advisory group.
“There are enormous opportunities to grow the AgTech sector in South Australia but we need a co-ordinated and focused approach to grasp the opportunities before us,” said Minister Whetstone.
“The role of this group is vital to encourage greater adoption of AgTech solutions on-farm and through the value chain – helping to build on South Australia’s advantages, showcase businesses and organisations developing or using new technology, and to increase productivity and quality in our primary industries.
“Some of the key areas the panel will look at include overcoming barriers that may be preventing producers from adopting new or emerging technologies, commercialisation and focusing on a long term strategy to grow AgTech in South Australia.
“We are seeking people who are leaders in their fields from research and academia, the entrepreneurial community, and individuals from across primary industry sectors, notably in grains, horticulture, meat and livestock.
“If we want to grow and improve the way we do business, it’s critical we embrace technology and apply the latest knowledge and practices. This advisory group will assist South Australia to be a technology leader.
“We want to hear from people who are passionate about harnessing AgTech opportunities in South Australia and want to make a contribution to make our agricultural industries more productive, sustainable and profitable through adoption of technologies and on-farm innovation.”
The Advisory Group will complement existing State Government strategies and investments in entrepreneurship, which aim to foster collaboration, build business capabilities and create vibrant and innovative communities.
Nominations for the AgTech Advisory Group open on 11 April 2019 and close 13 May 2019.
To nominate go to