Nominations open for SA Agricultural Town of the Year

12 May 2023 media release

Nominations are now open for the prestigious South Australian Ag Town of the Year award. 

Now in its fifth year, the annual South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year recognises South Australian towns that excel in agricultural practices and the flow-on effect on their surrounding communities.

Each year, the Ag Town of the Year award highlights the importance of developing and maintaining a strong and vibrant agriculture sector in South Australia, by recognising towns embracing their farming culture and displaying the foresight, resilience and spirit unique to our rural and regional communities.

The winning town will receive town entrance signage recognising their achievement, a certificate and trophy presented by the Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development, a community event and sign unveiling to celebrate the town's achievement and a double-page feature in SALIFE magazine.

Past winners include 2019 Cleve, 2020 Pinnaroo, 2021 Kimba and 2022 Mypolonga.

Nominations for the 2023 Ag Town of the Year can be made at Ag Town of the Year until they close on 5 June.

Nominated towns will then be put to the public vote from 12 to 26 June to help select the top 10 agricultural towns and later three finalist towns who will contend for the title of 2023 South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year.

The winner will be announced at the Regional Showcase Awards celebration in November.